Women in the Juries in 2013 Cannes Film Festival


After all of the attention drawn to Cannes film festival in 2012, because no female directors were in the official competition - see La barbe’s letter to the festival, originally published in "Le Monde" in French: http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2012/may/15/cannes-film-festival-men-open-letter
including the infamous phrase: "Cannes loves depth in women, but only in their cleavage" it was always going to be interesting to see how women fared in the 2013 line-up. What can certainly be noted this year is the strong presence of an exciting line-up of films by female directors in the "Un certain regard" section and the many women who will be part of and heading up the juries.


In the official competition there is one film by a female director, namely Valeria Bruni-Tedeschi’s "Un château en Italie".

This film draws on her own experience and she and actor Louis Garrel play the lead roles. Bruni-Tedeschi has acted in over 70 films and made her début as an actress with Patrice Cherau. She has written and directed 3 films, including "It’s easier for a camel" ("Il est plus facile pour un chameau") (2003), which won the Best New Narrative Film Maker award at Tribeca in 2003, and "Actrices" (2007).


8 of the 20 films in competition in this section are directed by women. These include:

Sofia Coppola’s "The Bling ring", which is her eighth feature and will open the competition. See a link to the trailer of this film at: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DfTGq42PifA

Coppola has won many awards and some highlights of her career, include: "The Virgin Suicides" (1999), "Lost in translation" (2003), which won an Oscar for Best Original Screenplay and "Marie Antoinette" (2006), which was nominated for a Palme d’Or.

Claire Denis’"Les salauds". Denis has directed over 20 titles and has previously been in competition at Cannes for her film "Chocolat" (1999).

In 2008 she directed "35 shots of rum" and in 2009, "White material", which was nominated for a Golden Lion at the 2009 Venice Film Festival.

Katrin Gebbe’s"Tore tanzt", which is her first feature. Gebbe is a writer/director.

Valeria Golino’s"Miele", which is also a first feature. Golino is also an actress and have won many prizes for her roles, including Best Actress at Venice Film Festival for her role in "A tale of love" (1986).

"Bends" by Flora Lau, another first feature from this Hong-Kong director. She has written and directed two shorts: "Dry Rain" (2009) and "12:30" (2008).

"Wakolda" by Lucia Puenzo.This is the third feature by this Argentinian director. Her feature "XXY" (2007) won the Critics’ week Grand prize and the Grand Golden Rail at Cannes Film Festival in 2007.

"Sarah would rather run" ("Sarah préfère la course") by the Canadian director Chloe Robichaud.

Robichaud’s short "Chef de meute" was nominated for the Best Short Film - Palme d’Or in 2012.

Rebecca Zlotowski’s "Grand central", which will be her second feature.

Her previous feature was "Belle épine" starring Léa Seydoux.


There will be a special screening of "Bite The Dust" by the Russian director Taisia Igumentseva (Cinéfondation) - this film will also be in competition for a Caméra d’Or prize (Best Cinematography).

Her previous short "The road to" won the top prize in the 15th Cinéfondation awards for student films in 2012.



American director, producer and scriptwriter Steven Spielberg will preside this year over a star-studded Jury. Of the eight top international film celebrities, active in a variety of creative fields to help him select the winners, half are women. These include:

Vidya Balan - an Indian actress who has worked with Mani Ratnam and Anees Bazmee;

the Japanese director Naomi Kawasewho has directed over 22 titles, including "Hanezu" which was nominated for a Palme d’Or in 2011 and "Mogari no mori", which was nominated for a Palme d’Or in 2007 and which won the Grand Prix of the festival;

the British director Lynne Ramsey,whose features include the fabulous "We need to talk about Kevin" with Tilda Swinton and Ezra Miller, which was in competion in Cannes in 2011;

the actress and producer Nicole Kidman, whose shining career has included working with many directors including Stanley Kubrick, Rob Marshall, Baz Luhrmann, Jane Campion, Anthony Minghella , Lars von Trier, Amenábar Tony Scott and Gus van Sant.

Her 2010 drama, "Rabbit hole" directed by John Cameron Mitchell about how a couple copes after the death of their four-year old lead to a nomination for Best Actress for an Academy Award. Her performance as Virginia Woolf in "The Hours", by Stephen Daldry earned her an Oscar for Best Actress.


The Cinéfondation and Short Film Jury will be presided over by the only female director to have won a Palme d’Or for a feature, namely Jane Campion with the "Piano" in 1993, which also won Best Actress award for Holly Hunter. Ewa is honoured to be able to meet her during the festival to find out more about what her filmmaking means to her and why it is so important that women’s stories are told too.

Originally from New Zealand, Campion has attracted critical acclaim from the start of her career. In 1986 she won the short film Palme d’or for "Peel" and garnered interest from critics all over the world for "Sweetie", the first feature she presented in competition at Cannes film festival. After "An Angel at my Table", she returned to Cannes with "The Piano" - see above. Campion’s work often deals with female sexuality and she has created many highly memorable female leads, from Kate Winslet’s Ruth in "Holy Smoke", to Nicole Kidman’s Isabel Archer in "Portrait of a Lady" (1996), to Mag Ryan’s Frannie Avery "In the Cut". Her film, "Bright Star" was a fictional biography about the poet Keats and his muse and was presented in competition at Cannes in 2009. Her latest series "Top of the Lake" will be screening during the festival.

She will also be awarded the Carrosse d’Or from the Society of Filmmakers during the festival.

In the jury alongside her are three women:

the Ethiopian director/actress/producerMaji-da ABDIA;

the Italian actress/producer Nicoletta BRASCHI;

the Indian director/actress Nandita DAS;

as well as the Turkish director Semih Kaplanoglu.


Three women are in the jury, which will be presided over by the Danish director, Thomas Vinterberg, whose film "The Hunt" was in competition in 2012 and earned Mads Mikkelson the title of Best Actor:

- the Chinese actress Zhang Ziyiwho has worked with Zhang Yimou, Ang Lee, Wong Kar-wai;

- the French actressLudivine Sagnierwho has worked with Claude Chabrol, François Ozon, P.J. Hogan, Laurent Tirard and Lee Tamahori and many more;

- Ilda da Santiago, theDirector of the Rio film festival in Brazil;

andthe other jury member is the Spanish producer, distributor and exhibitor Enrique Gonzalez Macho.


Agnès Vardà,the legendary French director, who has directed over 50 films, including "Cléo de 5 @ 7" (1962), which was nominated for a Palme d’Or, will be the President of the Jury.

We are delighted that the Spanish director and EWA President Isabel Coixet,whose film "Map of the Sounds of Tokyo" was in competition in Cannes 2009, will be another jury member.

Chloé Rolland,from Syndique de la Critique will also be a jury member; as will Gwénolé Bruneau, from the Fédération des Industries du Cinéma, de l’Audiovisuel et du Multimédia.

The other two jury members are the French director Régis Wargnier, Michel Abramowicz (AFC) and Eric Guirado (SRF)

Login / join EWA
Suscribe to our newsletter to find out the latest news
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31 1 2 3 4
Strasbourg: 11 rue Charles Bergmann, 67000, Strasbourg, France