Aufderhaar, jury at the German Music Authors’ Prize

Alexia Muiños Ruiz
Alexia Muiños Ruiz

Suli Puschban, the only woman awarded at Deutscher Musikautorenpreis

Deutscher Musikautorenpreis or German Music Authors' Prize is an Award Ceremony where music professionals honor their colleagues. The event is organized by GEMA, the “German Society for Musical Performing and Mechanical Reproduction Rights”. Behind this name stands a very simple idea: whoever uses music publicly should pay the authors for the use of their music. The ceremony was held last Thursday, March 14th, in Berlin, at the Ritz Carlton.



EWA member Christine Aufderhaar was representing the audiovisual music in the jury. The seven Jury members, voted by all the GEMA associates, have to vote for every category at Musikautorenpreis: Audiovisual Media, Choir, Jazz, HipHop, electronic classic, Pop-rock and Kinderlied (Nursery Rhyme).


Christine Aufderhaar (on the left)


There were women nominees only in four categories. ENSEMBLE with Electronics, JAZZ/CROSSOVER, Pop-Rock and KINDERLIED lyrics where Suli Puschban was the only woman awarded with the prize.