44 % of women directors among the European candidates for Best International Feature Film Academy Award

Alexia Muiños Ruiz
Alexia Muiños Ruiz

19 films directed by women among the European candidates to the Best International Feature

More women than ever among the European candidates (and films co-produced by Europe)  submitted for the Best International Feature Film Award at the 93rd Academy Awards.

The awards ceremony has been postponed to 25 April 2021 due to the pandemic. This year, for the first time, a streaming film may skip a theatrical release entirely and still remain eligible for the Academy Awards.

The usual procedure has been slightly modified for the 93rd Academy Awards, allowing all Academy members to take part in this selection procedure but final voting for the winner is restricted to active and life Academy members who have attended exhibitions of all five nominated films. Members who have watched the Foreign Language Film entries only on videocassette or DVD are ineligible to vote.

Five of the candidates, Anne Paulicevich,  Ana Rocha de Sousa, Sofia Quirós, Melina León and Dea Kulumbegashvili are presenting their debut feature film as directors. Paula Vaccaro, mentor in EWA Network's Mentoring programme for emerging Women Producers has produced Ana Rocha de Sousa's film, which was awarded in past Venice Film Festival.

List of European candidates

Albania: Open Door , Florenc Papas (Albania/Kosovo/Italy/North Macedonia)

Austria: What We Wanted, Ulrike Kofler (Austria)

Belgium: Working Girls, Frédéric Fonteyne, Anne Paulicevich (Belgium/France)

Belarus: Persian Lessons , Vadim Perelman (Russia/Germany/Belarus)

Bosnia and Herzegovina: Quo Vadis, Aïda?, Jasmila Žbanić (Bosnia and Herzegovina/Austria/Romania/France/Netherlands/Germany/Poland/Norway/Turkey)

Bulgaria: The Father, Kristina Grozeva, Petar Valchanov (Bulgaria/Greece)

Croatia: Extracurricular, Ivan-Goran Vitez (Croatia)

Czech Republic: Charlatan , Agnieszka Holland (Czech Republic/Ireland/Poland/Slovakia)

Denmark: Another Round, Thomas Vinterberg (Denmark/Sweden/Netherlands)

Estonia: The Last Ones, Veiko Õunpuu (Estonia/Finland/Netherlands)

Finland: Tove, Zaida Bergroth (Finland/Sweden)

France: Two of Us , Filippo Meneghetti (France/Luxembourg/Belgium)

Georgia: Beginning , Dea Kulumbegashvili (Georgia/France)

Germany: And Tomorrow the Entire World , Julia von Heinz (Germany/France)

Greece: Apples, Christos Nikou (Greece/Poland/Slovenia)

Kosovo: Exile, Visar Morina (Germany/Belgium/Kosovo)

Hungary: Preparations to be Together for an Unknown Period of Time, Lili Horvát (Hungary)

Iceland: Agnes Joy, Silja Hauksdóttir (Iceland)

Ireland: Arracht, Tom Sullivan (Ireland)

Italy: Notturno, Gianfranco Rosi (Italy/Germany/France)

Latvia: Blizzard of Souls, Dzintars Dreibergs (Latvia)

Lithuania: Nova Lituania, Karolis Kaupinis (Lithuania)

Luxembourg: River Tales, Julie Schroell (Luxembourg)

Netherlands: Buladó, Eché Janga (Netherlands)

North Macedonia: Willow, Milcho Manchevski (North Macedonia/Hungary/Belgium)

Norway: Hope ,  Maria Sødahl (Norway/Sweden)

Poland: Never Gonna Snow Again, Małgorzata Szumowska, Michał Englert (Poland/Germany)

Portugal: Listen, by Ana Rocha de Sousa (Portugal/UK)

Romania: Collective , Alexander Nanau (Romania/Luxembourg)

Slovakia: The Report ,  Peter Bebjak (Slovakia/Czech Republic/Poland/Germany)

Slovenia: Stories From The Chestnut Woods , Gregor Božič (Slovenia/Italy)

Spain: The Endless Trench , Aitor Arregi, Jon Garaño, Jose Mari Goenaga (Spain/France)

Sweden: Charter , Amanda Kernell (Sweden/Denmark/Norway)

Switzerland: My Little Sister, Stéphanie Chuat, Véronique Reymond (Switzerland)

Ukraine: Atlantis, Valentyn Vasyanovych (Ukraine)

Non-European countries, with European production

Costa Rica: Land of Ashes , Sofía Quirós Úbeda (Costa Rica/Chile/Argentina/France)

Côte d'Ivoire: Night of the Kings , Philippe Lacôte (France/Côte d'Ivoire/Canada/Senegal)

Guatemala: La Llorona, Jayro Bustamante (Guatemala/France)

Palestine: Gaza mon amour , Arab Nasser, Tarzan Nasser (Palestine/France/Germany/Portugal/Qatar)

Peru: Song without a Name , Melina León (Peru/Spain/Switzerland)

Sudan: You Will Die at 20, Amjad Abu Alala (Sudan/France/Egypt/Norway/Germany/Qatar)

Tunisia: The Man Who Sold His Skin, Kaouther Ben Hania (Tunisia/France/Belgium/Germany/Sweden)

Venezuela: Once Upon a Time in Venezuela, Anabel Rodríguez Ríos (Venezuela/United Kingdom/Brazil/Austria)

Asian Candidates

Kazakhstan: The Crying Steppe by Marina Kuranova , an alumna of the EWA Network Multiple Revenue Stream Training course, where this film was developed. The Crying Steppe is her third directorial feature after 2010’s 999 and 2014’s Hunting The Phantom