Isabel Coixet’s new film to open the Berlinale

Coixet’s Nobody Wants the Night will open the Berlinale (Berlin International Film Festival). On 5 February 2015, the film will premier and compete in the official selection of the festival’s 65th the Festival.

The film stars Juliette Binoche (Clouds of Sils Maria, Hidden), winner of a Best Supporting Actress Oscar for The English Patient, Rinko Kikuchi (The Brothers Bloom,Map of the Sounds of Tokyo), nominated for a Best Supporting Actress Oscar in Babel, and Gabriel Byrne (Capital, The Usual Suspects).
The film is a production by Ariane&Garoé (Andrés Santana), Mediapro (Jaume Roures), Neo Art Producciones (Antonia Nava) and Nadie quiere la noche A.I.E., in co-production with Noodles Production (Jerome Vidal - France) and One More Movie (Ariel Illief - Bulgaria). Coixet who will be competing in the festival’s official selection for the third time had previous entries with Elegy and My Life Without Me. She has also taken part in the Berlinale as a member of the jury and with her films Ayer no termina nunca (‘Yesterday Never Ends’), Escuchando al juez Garzón (‘Listening to the Judge’) and Things I Never Told You; and she was also one of the directors of the documentary Invisibles.

Based on an original screenplay by Miguel Barros (Blackthorn), Nobody Wants the Night is the story of Josephine Peary (Juliette Binoche), who wants to reunite with her husband, the explorer Robert Peary, and share with him his greatest moment when he reaches the North Pole. The film follows her bold and epic journey across the world’s most inhospitable landscape, her adventures and her encounter with Allaka (Rinko Kikuchi), an Inuit woman, who will change her rigid vision of the world forever. A story of adventure, discovery, pain and survival and above all, a wonderful love story.
Nobody Wants the Night was inspired by real people and was filmed in Finse and surroundings (Norway), Sofia (Bulgaria) and Tenerife (Spain). Shot in English the film was made with the support of TVE, Canal + Spain, TV3, ONO, the Spanish Institute of Film and the Audiovisual Arts (ICAA), the Catalan Institute of Cultural Enterprises (ICEC), the Eurimages Fund, the MEDIA Programme and the Bulgarian National Film Center.